Inner Petipa…are you sleeping?

15 Sep

In an attempt to get in touch with my inner Petipa, I sat my seat down and watched the Royal Ballet production of Sleeping Beauty, starring Alina Cojocaru and Federico Bonelli in the lead roles.  Truth be told, it really seemed more like “the story of the omnipotent Lilac Fairy,” a role in which Marianela Núñez shined…but more on that later (and props to Laura Morera as the…”spicy fairy.” I forget what the official name was).

As I said, the whole purpose of this exercise was to get in touch with my inner Petipa.  I’ve definitely been going through a “Peti-blah” funk towards the great classics because quite frankly, once you go MacMillan/Ashton you can never go back.  Well, I shouldn’t say “never,” but the more I come to appreciate that dynamic duo of British choreographers, the harder it becomes to enjoy the Petipa classics that are plagued with divertissements (translation, a dance for people on stage that probably have nothing to do with the story), leading to a tendency to stretch out stories that don’t have that much substance in the first place.  Sleeping Beauty was LONG.  I was genuinely shocked to discover that it’s only a mere eighteen minutes longer than my beloved Manon, because it does drag a bit and coming out of something feeling like you spent ten hours of your life in a mere two is generally not a good sign.

The problem is, Petipa is to be respected—NOT optional.  His great classics have been a driving force in securing ballet’s continual success and its place in history.  At first I thought maybe I was watching the wrong ballets.  The only one I’ve seen live is Le Corsaire, which I used to like a lot more than I do now and then there’s Don Quixote (meh) and La Bayadère that I’ve seen on film (the latter being one I still appreciate quite a bit actually).  I still have yet to watch a Swan Lake, which generally seems to be the most popular one, especially amongst women.  Why women anyway?  Rarely have I heard men say it’s their favorite or for male dancers, that it’s their favorite to perform but women are crazy about it!  However, this is a topic of research for another day so back to regularly scheduled programming…I had some hopes for Sleeping Beauty because I do adore the Disney movie oh so very much.  A hackneyed reference, I know…but the force is strong with my inner child.

I had trouble with the plot of Sleeping Beauty…I know it’s a fairy tale but there were a number of things that either didn’t make sense or were just disappointing—the biggest of these disappointments being the demise of the villainess, Carabosse.  She is a fantastic character but her demise is weak and is mostly at the hands of the Lilac Fairy, whose spell, once actualized in the awakening of Aurora by virtue of Florimund’s kiss is what destroys Carabosse.  I mean really, if the Lilac Fairy’s magic had this potential all along, why the wild goose chase and the one hundred year delay?  I had the same problem with Disney too…Maleficent is one of the most badass villains of all time and the movie went from the legendary line of: “now shall you deal with me, oh prince…and all the powers of Hell!” to having the fairies enchant the sword with a convenient “accuracy spell” so that when Prince Phillip threw it, it was guaranteed to hit its target.  It’s a disservice to these amazing villains to have them perish so easily, especially when it’s not even the main characters who overcome them…there was no sense of triumph for me.

At least in the Disney movie Phillip and Aurora meet before the whole sleep spell so their coupling at the end seems more serendipitous but in the ballet, Florimund kisses Aurora and they meet for the first time (after of course, the Lilac Fairy has him dance with her…ghost?  Where?  In an enchanted forest.).  First of all, shouldn’t Aurora be disturbed that she and her kingdom basically “Brigadooned” it and appeared as anachronisms in a completely new world?  And second, waking up to a stranger kissing you should be kind of creepy…like, “where’s your pepper spray” creepy.  Call it romantic if you must, but the nonsensical aspects of this ballet have me thinking Romeo and Juliet actually makes sense.

Regardless, the ballet IS pretty and Tchaikovsky’s score for it is one of the finest ever.  I think how I’ve come to differentiate the purely classical choreography by Petipa and the sort of neoclassical work of Ashton or MacMillan is that Petipa would be like what I would call “a great writer” while I would categorize Ashton/MacMillan as “great storytellers” (in addition to being great “writers” as well!).  To me, writing and storytelling have always been different arts, sometimes overlapping but still distinct.  I don’t even consider my own writing to necessarily be “good writing” but more often “good storytelling.”  When I came to this epiphany in regards to ballet, all of a sudden Sleeping Beauty became much more digestible.

The whole ballet is rather…“sugar and rainbows” so to speak and speaking of rainbows, I was oddly fascinated by the procession of fairies and their cavaliers in Act I.  I was somehow reminded of Jerome Robbins’s Dances at a Gathering which has nothing to do with Sleeping Beauty; it was just funny to me how the pastel color palettes were almost the same, the number of dancers was almost the same (twelve for Beauty, ten for Gathering), but obviously featured classical choreography with heavily embroidered and ornate tutus for one while the other has contemporary choreography with unadorned chiffon dresses.  The similarity in colors created in my mind a relationship between the two pieces that transcended time.  With both being so exemplary of their respective periods, I couldn’t help but feel the expansiveness of ballet’s timeline and be amazed at how much it has evolved.

In addition to the glitter and sparkle, it has to be said that Alina Cojocaru is in a category of her own.  Her impeccable balances and youthful nature make for a sweetheart Aurora that is sure to make your teeth hurt.  Federico Bonelli (or as I like to refer to him, BoBo…which I guess makes Alina: CoCo) is equally youthful and has a wonderfully boyish look that screams innocence.  What I love so much about his dancing is that he has such beautiful placement and dances very “squarely”—nothing is contorted to get a higher leg or turn out that is forced to unhealthy degrees.  It makes his dancing efficient and clean and it is in fact when dancers are struggling to get their legs higher or forcing their turnout that ballet actually looks hard.  BoBo also has a superb lightness; you would never be able to hear him land a jump and he rolls through his feet and uses his plié so well his steps seamlessly transition from one to another.  He is a perfect partner for CoCo, who is equally light and technically strong.  She has an ability to indulge her lines when she wants to, like in some of the attitude positions she’ll open her hip a bit but when it comes to those tough balances in attitude, she knows how to square her hips off as well.  (This is actually something I sort of learned for myself recently…given, I never dance on pointe but I’ve found a sense of balance that I never had before and now when I microwave leftovers for thirty seconds, I use that time to see if I can hold an attitude on relevé.   And yes, I can!  Even longer some days…I figure if the average human being can’t do that, it warrants a pat on the back)

Observe CoCo and BoBo in their “Happy Ending Pas de Deux”

In the end, I think I enjoyed Sleeping Beauty, and certainly CoCo and BoBo’s dancing of it.  Regardless of some plot issues I think I can enjoy Petipa after all…although considering the Royal Ballet’s production has revisions and choreography by Frederick Ashton, Anthony Dowell and Christopher Wheeldon, it’s kind of a hot mess of different choreographers.  Then again, every Petipa ballet today is.

Meanwhile, this might be the most fantastic Rose Adagio ever (at the 3:19 mark):

6 Responses to “Inner Petipa…are you sleeping?”

  1. Bead_109 (Lorry) September 17, 2010 at 11:18 pm #

    Apparently it doesn’t matter what version you watch, Sleeping Beauty is LONG, it definitely feels like 100 years until the prince shows up!

    I am also disappointed with the demise of Carabose! What’s up with that? She comes in with a nice little explosion and then goes down without a fight, not cool.

    I also think the whole wake the princess up with a kiss bit is strange too because they should either go for creepy or actually go for something remotely romantic, because I don’t really think it comes off as romantic & I definitely think that it would be kind of strange and disconcerting to say the least to wake up to someone you don’t know in your face! I’m also left unsatisfied with the transition to the next act… been asleep 100 years, wake up to creepy or romantic prince…all done, moving on… wait, shouldn’t there be something there?

    Then, okay, okay, it’s a fairy tale but the whole bit with Puss & Boots and all that… it’s just weird.

    I will say that I prefer the Nureyev version particularly for the male lead because Rudy gave Prince D some really nice stuff to do in Act II. I just saw ABT do it in LA a couple of months ago & kind of got the feeling that Marcelo was a little bored… don’t get me wrong… he, as always, gave a nice performance, but…maybe a little bored.

    • youdancefunny September 19, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

      I’ll have to check out a POB Beauty…I’ve read that Nureyev staged a lot of ballets with more dancing for the lead male but that it ruined Swan Lake. I guess for Beauty the results were more successful.

  2. Linda September 18, 2010 at 2:24 am #

    Beauty might drag a bit when we hit divertissement time, but once you’ve seen it various times, it becomes clear how MacMillan and Co. used it as a master reference. MacM in particular, thought it was of the biggest importance for a classical company to have a good production of Beauty, and that is why when he went to Berlin, it was the first full length he staged.

    CoCo is wonderful and so far my favourite Aurora. What you say about Bonelli is spot on. I remember seeing his Des Grieux act I solo and thinking that his turnout was amazing and his hip placement perfect.

    • youdancefunny September 19, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

      That’s interesting about MacMillan…I wonder what his Beauty was like! I can’t imagine choreography of his that didn’t have that psychological dimension to it. I love the humanity of his ballets (that I’ve seen anyway).

  3. Aletha October 19, 2010 at 11:52 pm #

    You should watch POB Beauty, Aurelie Dupont is pure gem there, her dancing and musicality are truly amazing (watch Act 1 variation) plus she showed every step with crystal clear clarity.
    She’s also amazing in the whole parts (young noble princess in Act 1, dream-like in Act 2, royal queen in Act 3).
    Don’t forget to post your review for this version, I want to read it :)

    • youdancefunny October 21, 2010 at 12:02 am #

      I actually do have the Paris Opera Sleeping Beauty from the library! Haven’t gotten to it yet (obviously) but look forward to a review soon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

