I Want You Back

29 Jun

So Michael Jackson has been all over the news, and have been trying to figure out how I want to express what it is I want to say.  But by this point it’s not news to anyone so I don’t have to say too much, especially in a blog that’s supposed to be about funny things.  So I’ll keep the serious stuff brief…I mourn, like many fans, the loss of a brilliant (and tortured) performing artist and true talent.  There was always an endless swarm of gossip and controversy surrounding him, and I do feel that he became a very mentally ill individual as a result.  Some of the things he went through both frightened and saddened me, and I wish he could have gotten the help he needed to lead a healthier life.  Regardless of the shell of a human he seemed to be in the end, he was an undeniably force to be reckoned with in the world of entertainment.

The best way to remember an artist is to celebrate their work, and MJ was a tremendously influential figure in dance.  I’m no MJ fanatical historian, but I do remember hearing he had no formal dance training (or possibly very little?) which amazes me.  I believe it was the choreographer for Thriller who said MJ was just a natural born dancer (not to mention the master of pencil turns!  SRSLY.)  And Thriller is one of the dances that inspired my love for jazz.  I learned it in my first jazz class at OSU, my second jazz class, my third…and it’s almost tradition for at least one of the classes to include Thriller or another MJ song into their Informance piece.  Everything about the song, the dance and music video (which still gives me the heebie-jeebies…there are still certain parts I can’t watch without having nightmares for 2 weeks…like that part when the camera zooms in on his face and he’s all rigor mortis zombified) is just epic.  Thriller is the stuff of legends now…with mass zombie and ghoul gatherings every Halloween, with major cities always seeming to try and outdo one another for the most massive mass Thriller record.  I’m guessing this year is going to be a worldwide mad house.

Even then, nobody can dance Thriller the way he did.  Or all the moonwalking variations, 45894594723 pencil turns, and freezing for like 5 minutes in a toe rise.  However, before all that blossomed, I have to say my favorite MJ will always be the pint-sized Bar Mitzvah version from when he was still singing with his brothers as the Jackson 5.  I listen to “I Want You Back” and “The Love You Save” like twenty times a day, and each time it still puts me in a good mood, with ann. extra bounce in my step.  It’s one of my “jams” when driving, and I’ve gotten plenty of weird looks from people who think I’m nuts as I try to dance while at the wheel.  Sons of sea gherkins and filthy bilge rats…AS IF, they wouldn’t be doing the same thing if they were listening to the same songs!

And just look at what a little bumbie-pie he was!

And I’m including this just because I LOVE the dance they break out at about 2 minutes in to the video…YEAH ISOLATIONS!!

So thank you MJ…for some kickass tunes and some wild dancing.  I choose to remember you as an incredibly gifted individual, and will be sorely missed in this age of mediocrity.  Thankfully, your music and your art are eternal and will always hold your place in history as a beacon amongst stars.  (Yeah, I’m sappy at the moment…but “The Jacksons: An American Dream” was just on TV)

Leave a Reply

