Top Dance Blogs of 2010 Contest

9 Dec

As the end of 2010 looms off the starboard bow, the stupendous Nichelle Strzepek, writer/editor extraordinaire of the comprehensive resource we know and love as DanceAdvantage.net, is holding a contest where members of the dance community can vote on their favorite dance blogs.  Voting isn’t taking place yet…first us bloggers must submit applications to qualify and to do that I am in need of your love and support.  I won’t beg (I am an Aries after all…for better or worse, we have too much pride for that) but if You Dance Funny entertains you, I would be most grateful for a nomination!

To nominate me, all you have to do is leave a comment on this post.  It’s not necessary to write anything substantial, just a statement of your vote or a “yes, please!” will suffice.  However, I’m a sucker for feedback so this is the perfect opportunity to post any thoughts about my writing, from the good, the bad, the ugly and suggestions for content are always welcome.   The deadline for comments is December 22nd, as they will be counted in the following days in order to determine which blogs have the most comments and thus move on to the actual voting round, which will take place from December 27th to the 30th. (Further details on the qualification procedures can be found on Dance Advantage)

In addition to your nominative comments, you can also help me by spreading the word through social media like Facebook or Twitter (here’s a shortened link for Twitter users: http://wp.me/pxnJK-ee) to get the fires blazin’ so to speak.

Just so you know, I shall be entering You Dance Funny into the Dance Student/Beginner category…I always seem to indecisive when it comes to categorizing myself (I once wrote an eight-page essay on why I didn’t consider myself to be Korean, American or even Korean-American) but I figured I’m still a student of dance in the studio and an independent researcher, with oh so much to learn.  It seems the most appropriate category to me…I think.  Whatever.

So leave your comments, do your damage and let’s make You Dance Funny one of the Reader’s Choice blogs of 2010!

Many thanks readers!

-Steve

Love me.

*Disclaimer: Tamara Rojo does not endorse this blog nor does she endorse a nomination of this blog…but you would do it anyway, right?  RIGHT?

20 Responses to “Top Dance Blogs of 2010 Contest”

  1. Bead 109 December 9, 2010 at 11:46 pm #

    Reasons why Steve should win:
    1. watched more Swan Lakes in one month than any other person living or dead
    2. magically knows exactly when to shop at Trader Joe’s
    3. doesn’t like R&J either!
    4. has fantastic planning skills for stalking certain un-named ballet dancers
    5. has The most Wonderful Twitter photo EVER

    Please feel free to add to this list…oh yeah…

    6. his blog rocks!

  2. David December 10, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    I’m pretty sure Rojo would endorse this post, if she knew about it… 🙂

    Anyways, you’re awesome. Ergo, you have my vote!

  3. The Ballet Bag December 10, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    What L Bead says!!! Here’s another vote!

    Love,

    E&L

  4. Adult Beginner December 10, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    Yes!

  5. Karena December 10, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    You ask for “nominative comments,” which of course makes me wonder “what is the Latin for ‘comment,’ and what would it be in the nominative plural?”

    It seems the likeliest candidate is “dicta.” So there you go, my nominative comments 🙂

    I think you should win because yours is a very learned dance blog that makes me look up things in my English-Latin lexicon to leave a comment. And because your writing is fabulous!

  6. robin (mahrobi) December 10, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    yay steve. funny, thoughtful, intelligent and he makes his own fruitcake. while i don’t quite get the hatred for romeo and juliet, i fully support his love of sir fred. this is my official vote 🙂

  7. Naomi December 10, 2010 at 7:11 pm #

    I am always impressed by the deep insights and knowledge as well as the warm, affectionate humor in your blog, dear Steve! Really enjoyed your Swan Lake month.
    This is definitely a blog for all ballet lovers to read! And as Bead109 pointed out, your twitter avatar is one of the coolest and sweetest ones I have ever seen!
    Love Naomi

  8. sionan December 10, 2010 at 11:56 pm #

    Yours is a wondrous blog 😉 literate, self-effacing, well researched… I love your posts…there are few of us posting on the west coast , so I feel connected somehow 😉 😉 from Portland, Sylphide

  9. Maria December 11, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    You have my vote! Thanks for always making me laugh! 🙂

  10. Aletha December 11, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

    You have my vote 🙂

  11. Catchip December 11, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

    A large vote from me too. Hope they pour in and the contest is just a stepping stone to eventual Impresario status… the world awaits!

  12. Hilary December 13, 2010 at 5:25 am #

    Um, hellooo? Le Duh.

  13. MKR December 13, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    I think Steve should win because “You Dance Funny…” represents the potential for blogs as a valid and respectable source of information. Rather than compromising integrity in the interest of diffusion, Steve proves that humor and informality can be used as a tool for highly accessible communication. His aesthetic sensibility and discerning eye support his active research to give “You Dance Funny…” readers an illuminating and all together pleasurable experience!

  14. Catherine December 14, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

    A vote for you! Keep up the great work!

  15. Jenn December 15, 2010 at 11:05 am #

    Anyone who watches that much Swan Lake deserves to win… best of luck!

  16. Ana Weisz December 16, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

    Vote for Steve’s blog!

    I mostly lurk it, to be honest. But Steve puts a very educated face to the blogging of dance students. He is academically informed, he researches and always makes sure to have an informed opinion. And I really appreciate how that represents so many of us dancers.

    Good luck, Steve!

  17. Lindsay Thomas December 17, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    I vote yes! A wonderful addition to the dance community.

  18. Mark Panzarino December 21, 2010 at 4:40 pm #

    YES!!!

  19. Henrik from Tights and Tiaras December 22, 2010 at 6:53 am #

    Well of course!! Figured I’d wait til the last day to put my votes down, just to make it more exciting 🙂 hilarious, bold and fantastic! Of course you’ve got my vote!!!

  20. Bonnie December 29, 2010 at 6:03 am #

    My vote will be yes! An amazing addition to the dance community.

Comments are closed.

